top of page
  • jordanpuscus

We Saw, WeVideod, We Conquered...?

Well folks, the work has begun! It was just baby steps, but this past weekend I engaged in my first physical task of home renovations. I was feeling sick, so I didn't spend a ton of time working, but I wanted to get a little bit of work in and practice my video editing skills. For this week, I simply used my drywall saw to trim the drywall along my wall that is not insulated. The reason for this is that I had to create some space for the poly (or plastic sheeting) to be able to be taped to the fresh poly I will be adding after I add the insulation. The poly is used as a vapor barrier which helps to prevent condensation from forming on the surfaces of the exterior wall (according to my Google research..).


This was a pretty simple task and took me about 20 minutes, but I decided this would be a good way to also learn how to use some video editing software!


The platform I decided to utilize is WeVideo. This is a cloud-based video editing software that I have access to as an employee of Regina Catholic Schools. I figured it makes sense to use a tool that I will hopefully have access to when I begin teaching (assuming RCSD hires me.. :|) so eventually I can teach my students how to use it!


The first thing I noticed was that the app on my phone was much more limited than what I could do on my laptop. I was able to upload the video on my phone to my account, but when I logged into my laptop, it didn't show up. Additionally, on the app there is very limited options for editing the video or making any changes and it appears you have to be logged in on a computer to get the full effects of the software. I have never used video editing software before so all of this was new to me.



The interface is pretty straightforward (shown above) as all of the tools are aligned on the left side and are pretty self explanatory. I did use a Google search of WeVideo how to's when I had a couple of things I wasn't totally sure how to complete.


Ultimately, I decided to keep it simple for my first test run and I used the software to take my 17 minute video and turn it into a just over 1 minute video. I decided to use the fast forward or timelapse function as nobody needs to see me slowly saw away for 15 minutes straight. You can see below that you can either slow down or speed up the video depending on whether you move the slider to the right or left. I ended up making mine as fast as possible to have it as a shorter video for such a small project.



Additionally, I did trim up the video, specifically a little bit at the beginning and end where I was talking as you may notice through the Range bar listed above. I decided to make it more of an action video of my first step in this renovation project and so I also added some background music to add a little effect.


In the picture above you can see that I had dragged the video into the Video 1 slot, and then found a song included in the WeVideo library and dragged it into the Audio 1 slot. As you can see, you can have the music start or end at certain times, but I ended up just linking it up with my whole video as it's quite short. Ultimately, for this software I felt like the user experience was pretty simple. I did notice that I have limits on video size and the number of videos I create and to increase these I would have to pay for an upgraded account. I would recommend this as a simple video editing tool as it served the overall purpose of what I was looking for.


In the case of this app as a tool for projects, I believe it falls under the category of Modification within the SAMR model. The process of creating a project through video and being able to edit it provides more significant engagement and represents a unique product as compared to the alternative. I would argue to some extent that simply using this tool falls within the Redefinition phase as learning these skills is essential in our technology shifting world as it provides students with skills that they would not have otherwise. Either way, the use of technology in the classroom is an important part of my vision as a future teacher so students are digitally literate and have the skills to function in a world that is shifting more and more to technology focused.


Enjoy my final product below!



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page