top of page
  • jordanpuscus

Barriers and Resistance

In the past, a major barrier to my engagement in home renovations and other such tasks has been my confidence and impatience. This weekend, I continued to slowly chip away at renovating the basement bedroom in my house by finishing up installing insulation, and beginning to prepare the vapor barrier. Last weekend I had started inputting the insulation pictured below between the studs. However, I ran out and needed to purchase more. I went out this weekend and purchased more insulation and completed that part of the project. I then began preparing the vapor barrier by taping it to the other barrier which is already installed below the completed drywall and am now waiting to use a staple gun to seal it to the studs. My previous struggles and resistance to home renovations is due to my confidence (or lack thereof) in being good at these types of tasks. I feel like so far in this project, I have been able to be more patient and work through things slowly, which has helped reduce my frustration and allowed me to enjoy the process. Being able to ease into the project without rushing and feeling like there is an important timeline has allowed me to slowly complete tasks as I am able and not feel like I have to complete it as soon as possible. This week I plan to staple the vapor barrier sheet to the studs and seal it at the floor level to ensure moisture doesn't get through to the drywall. After that is complete, I am ready for the next big step: installing the drywall.

Updated pictures of my basement room with vapor barrier almost fully complete

So far, I have slowly prepared this wall to install drywall, but the big test is actually engaging in this aspect of the project. The tasks I have been completing thus far are mostly simple and I didn't have to do that much background research as they were straightforward and the other wall in this room was already finished in this way so I essentially just copied it. I have done a lot of background research on how to install drywall, but I will have to go back to the drawing board to make sure that I am set and have a concrete plan for installing this properly. Additionally, from what I understand, installing drywall is a two person job so I will have to recruit my wife, another relative, or a friend to assist me when I begin these next steps. It appears that I am on a good pace so far, but will definitely need to pick up the volume of work that I complete over the next couple of weeks. I have enjoyed the challenge thus far of this learning project, but will be tested in the coming weeks as the difficulty in tasks increases.

20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page