top of page
  • jordanpuscus

Screw It!

This is a two-part post. The first part is from when I completed my first full wall with drywall! This is a big accomplishment for me and I felt like I learned a couple things after installing the first piece with my wife. These next two pieces I completed on my own and figured out how to use the T-Square, which I'd never done before. It is the blue ruler looking thing at the bottom of the photo below and it allows you to easily cut your drywall. As you can see, I used one (mostly full) sheet on the right part of the wall, and then I had to cut a much shorter piece to finish to the left side of the wall. I then took the piece that I cut off and again cut it and installed it up top. So as you may notice, there are 3 separate pieces of drywall making up the east-facing (?) wall in my basement bedroom. One of the great tricks I ended up using, which I found online, was putting lipstick along the outlet and then putting pressure against the back of the drywall board so I knew where to make a cut for the outlet. This was something I found online and was honestly super helpful as just measuring was giving me an inexact spot. I used my jab saw to cut out a hole big enough for an outlet and it worked perfectly!

In the next stage of my work, I began installing drywall on the north-facing wall. Again, I had another two outlets that I had to consider and cut for, but this was an easier process after I learned the lipstick trick. As I began working on this wall, I thought I may need some help in setting and holding the drywall, but I ended up completing all of the work myself and it seemed to go pretty well. I did record myself installing the first main sheet of drywall and will have to censor some of the language as I had some issues with a couple of the screws. They went right through the drywall so I guess I wasn't aligned properly with the stud, but I ended up just putting in another screw in that spot. Ultimately, between the two days I spent working on this drywall, it was a lot of work, and a little bit stressful, but I've officially completed both walls completely with drywall! A picture of the second completed wall is posted below. Although the quality of work is definitely not at the level of a renovation expert or home improvement YouTuber, I am happy with having challenged myself to do this project as I've grown more comfortable with the idea of being able to complete these types of projects. My next hope is to begin some taping and mudding processes, but I'm not sure how much I'll get done with only a couple weeks left! Stay tuned...


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page