top of page
  • jordanpuscus

Home Depot: Trip 1

This past weekend I made my first of what I presume to be many trips to Home Depot. I completed the first steps in my plan by consulting with my older brother and then making a list of hardware, materials, and tools that I would need. I decided to use the Home Depot app to scout out the different items I need to give me a visual of what these things look like before I went searching for them. This simple step helped reduce some of the stress for me as I went shopping. I find going into a store like Home Depot, with my lack of knowledge or comfortability in the area of renovations and construction-type work, to be very stressful. Thankfully, with having a list and the images on the Home Depot app of what I needed, it helped me to not feel as panicked, rushed or overwhelmed.


When purchasing my items, including an electric drill, I tried to be fiscally conscious and looked for items that were the best value. In the case of the drill, my brother encouraged me to purchase one myself, rather than trying to borrow one, as it is a handy tool that can be useful for many household jobs. Luckily, there was a sale on for the Ryobi drill (pictured below) which included a $100 battery and charger starter pack for free. The other items included below are a set of drill heads and drivers (I think???), a mask and safety goggles, a jab knife/saw (for cutting the drywall) and drywall screws. The big package beneath is the insulation I need for the first part of my job. As noted in previous pictures, there are some sections in my basement bedroom that require insulation and poly (plastic covering for seal). Before getting started on the drywall, I need to finish up these tasks to ensure the wall is ready for the next step of drywall.

The next stage in my plan is to retrieve some poly from my older brother (who will lend me some, rather than buying a whole pack) as well as some 'tuck tape,' an essential item that I am missing to help tape the poly together after installing the insulation (some of the wall already has drywall and poly, but all insulation was removed). If all of this sounds complicated, it may be because I am not explaining it right, or maybe it just is! Even just using the language of the materials I require is growing on me, as a couple weeks ago I didn't even know what these things were. I plan to get the poly and tuck tape and will begin inputting the insulation in between the studs in the walls, then will cover with plastic and seal, before being able to install the drywall.


My aim is to begin the physical labour of this job in the next week and I am hoping to just chip away at it little by little, instead of trying to do all of it in one weekend. My reasoning for this is to pace myself on this project, but also to maintain some sanity as I feel like doing this slowly will help me to do the best quality job without rushing or stressing about it. Part of me is a little bit excited for this journey, while the other part of me is terrified of doing a poor job. Once I'm done this first step in the job, I hope to be back here providing some before and after visuals to show the progress I've made!

19 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page