top of page
  • jordanpuscus

Plan, Plan, Plan...

Updated: Nov 16, 2022

Well, I knew planning would be a major part of my future career as a teacher, so I guess this home renovation project gives me a chance to practice! I am inherently a very organized, detailed, and structured person so as I begin this process of trying to learn how to do some home renovations, I am very intentional about planning it out from the start. This week I got started by reading through the article I posted on my previous link, as well as beginning to watch some videos on YouTube regarding the basics of drywall installation. After reading and watching some videos, it is a bit of an overwhelming process as in some videos (such as the one below) they breeze through the instructions very quickly. For someone who is not handy at all, I found that this resource was not helpful as I felt like it was moving too quickly and I still had plenty of questions about details and things I needed to get started. In this case, I found reading the article was more helpful because it is easier to go back and read, rather than rewind and watch a video over and over again. Additionally, the previous article I read was super helpful as it listed the suggested tools that I may need for this specific job. However, I still felt a little unsure about where to start so I made a crucial decision...


Call a friend!

I decided to call my older brother, as I wanted some specific advice for the layout of my basement and I felt this was an easier source of support compared to looking at more generic information on websites or YouTube tutorials. He came over and gave me some super helpful tips about how to get started and some quick pointers regarding the dynamics of my basement and how to best install the drywall. Additionally, he gave me some confirmation regarding the list of tools and hardware I had made (a crucial part of this plan) and even offered some materials that he has available. Obviously this decision to reach out to an in-person, community support means I am not totally relying on technology, but I think given the circumstances, it was a necessary decision. This is a reminder that as much as we can learn online from others, there is power in the relationships we hold and relying on that human connection in our learning process. Especially with something that I feel so uncertain about, I figured the value of getting some specific advice about my circumstances was incredibly valuable so I don't do a poor quality job and waste my time and money!


Next Steps


My next steps in my plan includes purchasing some of the tools, hardware, and materials that I need to begin the job and begin to prep the work area. I have officially made a list of the tools and materials I need and I plan to head out on the weekend to begin to purchase these items. Additionally, I will have to move some items out of our room downstairs to ensure that I have space to begin my handyman work. I have already done some research and compared items online to try to find reasonable value and ensure that I have all the appropriate resources I need to complete this job effectively. Wish me luck!

18 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page