top of page
  • jordanpuscus

Seal the Deal

This weekend I did some final pieces as preparation before I finally begin the drywall installation. My intention was to install the drywall, but I decided that I would complete a seal on the bottom of the vapor barrier. To complete this task, I had previously purchased LePage PL Acousti-Seal Adhesive which is used to bond the vapor barrier to the wood/concrete. To be honest, I'd never used a caulking gun before so when I purchased this, I had no idea what I was doing. It seems like a pretty easy task so I loaded the sealant into the caulking gun, cut off the tip of the bottle, and then tried to squeeze it out. I realized this wasn't working and then noticed that on the outer edge of the sealant it stated "puncture" so I began trying to jam my blade into it, but it didn't work. I realized this was probably not what they meant, so I Googled how to do this. I realized it was actually simple and you jab a screwdriver in through where you cut the tip of the bottle and it pops it right open. The key with this adhesive, as I'd read before, is that it's super sticky and gets EVERYWHERE. With this being said, I tried to be cautious by wearing gloves and ensuring that it didn't get on my clothing. I did a pretty good job but overall it definitely was a bit of a mess. I went through at least a few pairs of gloves, got some on my arm (which I immediately washed off) but eventually finished.


The next step I took was prepping the drywall. I attempted to measure out where I will need to make a cut for the outlet with some difficulty. In cutting out this hole for the outlet, I will need to do it before I start screwing in the drywall. By trying to measure by myself, it was difficult as I couldn't hold the drywall perfectly in place. I did seem to get a good idea of where it is, but will have to be more exact and get a helping hand (from my wife??) before I officially make the cut for the outlet and screw in the drywall. I feel as though I am all prepared to begin screwing in the drywall. I plan to do this next weekend when I will be getting a T-square (used to measure and cut drywall) from my brother. This is when the real work begins!


Below are a few pictures of what the wall looks like after I added the adhesive, as well as a picture of the drywall prep I've begun.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page